Parks and Recreation


Mike Gore

Parks and Recreation Employees

Parks and Recreation Information

Summers Memorial Building
451 1st Avenue, Suite 216
Hinton, WV 25951
(304) 466-7113
(304) 466-7134 fax

Parks and Recreation

Meetings are held quarterly on the third (3rd) Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 5:30 p.m. in the Summers Memorial Building auditorium unless posted otherwise.

The Summers County Parks & Recreation Commission is organized in accordance with Chapter 7, Article 11, Section 1, et seq, of the West Virginia Code for the purpose of establishing, improving, developing, administering, operating, and maintaining a county public parks and recreation system or public recreational facilities.  It is the function of the Parks & Recreation Commission to concern itself with the above objective and to serve the County Commission as an adviser on parks and recreational matters.

The Parks and Recreation Commission shall have the right of eminent domain and the power and authority to receive and disburse any manner of funds related to revenues and expenses regarding the ownership or acquisition of properties, contractual agreements, the operation and use of facilities, insurance, and investments.  The Commission has the right to establish and conduct a levy to fund the operations of a Parks & Recreation Commission.

The Parks & Recreation Commission shall consist of eleven members appointed by the County Commission in a manner to achieve geographical and organizational representation of the County. Candidates for the Parks & Recreation Commission must have been residents of the County for at least one (1) year prior to appointment. Two (2) Parks & Recreation Commission members shall be appointed from each of the three (3) geographical districts.  One County Commission member will serve on the Parks & Recreation Commission, to be appointed by the Commission as its representative at the first regular County Commission meeting each year.  In addition, one commissioner shall represent county emergency services, one shall represent the travel and tourism industry, one shall represent the Board of Education, and one commissioner shall be appointed as an “at large” representative.  The terms of office are three years.